Prospects and operational presence expansion

Entry into new oil projects is the basis for the Company’s long-term growth as per the Zarubezhneft JSC Corporate Strategy.

During the reporting period, the Company implemented a number of measures to develop this business line:

  • Zarubezhneft JSC policy in the field of business development in the UPSTREAM sector has been developed and approved;
  • a new version of the Standard for Search and Evaluation of New Assets business process was prepared;
  • The IT-system for monitoring the evaluation process and entering to new projects was launched into pilot operation;
  • The Benchmarking concept has been developed; a comparative analysis of the activities of Russian and foreign companies on entering new projects has been underway.

In 2018, more than 30 projects were reviewed in the Russian Federation and abroad; investment Committee meeting were held on 22 projects. Experts of the corporate center and subsidiaries carried out 4 process audits of new fields. In addition the countries of presence (Vietnam and Cuba), traditional to the Company, the activities focused on searching, evaluating and developing projects in the following regions:

  • Middle East and Africa (Iraq, Egypt, Gabon);
  • South America (Ecuador, Colombia, Argentina);
  • Southeast Asia (Indonesia, Brunei).

During the reporting period, a number of documents were signed with foreign partners that laid the legal foundation for future cooperation: Confidentiality agreements were signed with the Ministry of Oil and Ore Mining of Sudan, Sudapet Sudan National Oil and Gas Company, Stream Oil (Gabon) and Pura Vida (Australia) private companies, a Memorandum of Understanding was signed with the Ministry of Oil of South Sudan.

MAIN COMPANY’S ACCOMPLISHMENTS IN 2018 TOWARDS THE EXPANSION OF THE AREA OF OPERATIONS

Iraq

Contacts were established and negotiations were held with representatives of the Ministry of Petroleum of Iraq, government agencies responsible for the implementation of projects in Upstream segment. The information was analyzed about the fields under the jurisdiction of the Ministry of Petroleum of Iraq, which can be entered through direct negotiations.

Ecuador

In 2018, the Company continued the analysis and evaluation of the proposed new projects in the framework of international tenders. In particular, Zarubezhneft JSC passed the qualification successfully at the national oil and gas company Petroamazonas under the Ronda Campos 2018 tender and prepared a package of qualification documents for participation in the Secretariat tender for Intracampos hydrocarbons.

Argentina

Negotiations were held with representatives of the Federal Ministry of Energy of Argentina, the regional Ministry of Energy of Rio Negro province, with representatives of YPF state oil and gas company and a number of private operators. Potential projects for joint implementation have been identified.

Gabon

At the suggestion of the Ministry of Oil and Hydrocarbons, several offshore projects were studied in detail. Participation in a tender planned for 2019 for marine geological survey blocks was prepared.

Egypt

The Company’s activities in Egypt were focused on exploring blocks in the Sinai Gulf, awarded to private Egyptian companies. In particular, the main terms of the Agreement with the operator of Pacific Oil Limited project were agreed on SE Ras El Ush field, and the option of involving Murmanskaya jack-up to work on the project was worked out. A letter was sent to the Egyptian state oil company Ganope about Zarubezhneft JSC readiness to join the PSA in the South East Ras El Ush block in a consortium with Pacific.

Assets of the Russian Federation

In terms of the new assets in the Russian Federation and the CIS, Zarubezhneft JSC has also actively conducted an assessment of new projects, considering potential assets under the allocated and unallocated subsoil fund. In 2018, projects were considered in the most priority regions of the Russian Federation - Western Siberia, Timan-Pechora, Saratov and Orenburg regions, as well as in Kazakhstan and Uzbekistan.

To digitize the search and analysis of new projects, the Company has developed an Information System for monitoring the entry into new projects. The information system will allow visualizing the processes of entering the projects, reviewing technical and economic indicators, total indicators on the project portfolio, terms and stages of implementation, as well as monitoring key performance indicators at various stages of investment projects. The implementation of such a decision will make it possible to have constant access to all the necessary information on the estimated sites for making a decision on entering the project.

It should be noted that in 2018, Zarubezhneft JSC began the development of a new promising business segment – renewable energy sources (RESs). Initially, in cooperation with domestic manufacturers of equipment for solar power plants, it is planned to equip the Company’s own oil and gas projects, and then, to transfer RESs to an independent activity while gaining the necessary experience.

Перспективы и расширение зоны деятельности

Вхождение в новые нефтяные проекты является основой перспективного роста Компании в соответствии с Корпоративной стратегией АО «Зарубежнефть».

За отчетный период Компания реализовала ряд мероприятий по развитию данного направления деятельности:

  • разработана и утверждена Политика АО «Зарубежнефть» в области развития бизнеса в секторе Upstream;
  • подготовлена новая редакция Стандарта бизнес-процесса «Поиск и оценка новых активов»;
  • запущена в пилотную эксплуатацию ИТ-система по мониторингу процесса оценки и вхождения в новые проекты;
  • разработана концепция бенчмаркинга, проводится сравнительный анализ деятельности российских и зарубежных компаний по вхождению в новые проекты.

За 2018 год было рассмотрено более 30 проектов в Российской Федерации и за рубежом. По 22 проектам проведены заседания Инвестиционного комитета. Эксперты Корпоративного центра и дочерних обществ провели четыре технологических аудита новых месторождений. Помимо традиционных для Компании стран присутствия (Вьетнам и Куба) деятельность сосредоточилась на поиске, оценке и проработке проектов в следующих регионах:

  • Ближний Восток и Африка (Ирак, Египет, Габон);
  • Южная Америка (Эквадор, Колумбия, Аргентина);
  • Юго-Восточная Азия (Индонезия, Бруней).

В отчетном периоде подписан ряд документов с зарубежными партнерами, заложивших правовую основу для будущего сотрудничества: Соглашения о конфиденциальности с Министерством нефти и горнорудной промышленности Судана, суданской национальной нефтегазовой компанией Sudapet, частными компаниями Stream Oil (Габон) и Pura Vida (Австралия). С Министерством нефти Южного Судана подписан Меморандум о взаимопонимании.

Основные достижения Компании в 2018 году в направлении расширения зоны деятельности

Ирак

Установлены контакты и проведены переговоры с представителями Министерства нефти Ирака, государственными структурами, ответственными за реализацию проектов в сегменте Upstream. Проанализирована информация о месторождениях, находящихся в ведении Министерства нефти Ирака, вхождение в которые возможно посредством проведения прямых переговоров.

Эквадор

В 2018 году Компания продолжила анализ и оценку предлагаемых новых проектов в рамках международных тендеров. В частности, АО «Зарубежнефть» успешно прошло квалификацию в национальной нефтегазовой компании Petroamazonas по тендеру Ronda Campos 2018 и подготовило пакет квалификационных документов для участия в тендере Секретариата по углеводородам Intracampos.

Аргентина

Проведены переговоры с представителями федерального Министерства энергетики Аргентины, регионального Министерства энергетики провинции Рио-Негро, а также с представителями государственной нефтегазовой компании YPF и рядом частных операторов. Определены потенциальные проекты к совместной реализации.

Габон

По предложению Министерства нефти и углеводородов были детально изучены несколько морских проектов. Подготовлено участие в планируемом на 2019 год тендере по морским геолого-разведочным блокам.

Египет

В Египте деятельность Компании была сосредоточена на изучении блоков в Синайском заливе, присужденных частным египетским компаниям. В частности, по месторождению SE Ras El Ush согласованы основные условия Соглашения с оператором проекта Pacific Oil Limited, проработана опция привлечения СПБУ «Мурманская» для работы на проекте. В адрес государственной египетской нефтяной компании Ganope направлено письмо о готовности вхождения АО «Зарубежнефть» в СРП по блоку South East Ras El Ush в консорциуме с Pacific.

Активы Российской Федерации

В части новых активов в Российской Федерации и СНГ АО «Зарубежнефть» также активно ведет оценку новых проектов, рассматривая потенциальные активы в рамках распределенного и нераспределенного фонда недр. В 2018 году рассматривались проекты в наиболее приоритетных регионах Российской Федерации – Западная Сибирь, Тимано-Печора, Саратовская и Оренбургская области, а также в таких странах, как Казахстан и Узбекистан.

В целях цифровизации процессов поиска и анализа новых проектов в Компании разрабатывается Информационная система мониторинга вхождения в новые проекты. Информационная система позволит визуализировать процесс вхождения в проекты, осуществлять просмотр технико-экономических показателей, суммарные показатели по портфелю проектов, срокам и этапам выполнения, а также проводить мониторинг КПЭ на различных этапах реализации инвестиционных проектов. Внедрение такого решения позволит иметь постоянный доступ ко всей необходимой информации по оцениваемым участкам для принятия решения о вхождении в проект.

Следует отметить, что в 2018 году в АО «Зарубежнефть» началось развитие нового перспективного бизнес-сегмента – возобновляемых источников энергии (ВИЭ). Изначально в сотрудничестве с отечественными производителями оборудования для солнечных электростанций планируется оснастить собственные нефтегазовые проекты Компании, а затем по мере обретения необходимого опыта перевести ВИЭ в независимое направление деятельности.